Thursday, March 4, 2010

Malacanang bares new Cabinet appointees

PRESIDENT Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo named Transportation and Communications Secretary Leandro Mendoza as replacement of Executive Secretary Eduardo Ermita, who recently resigned to run for congressman of Batangas.

Ermita, who was Press Secretary Crispulo Icban Jr.'s guest at his press conference Wednesday, also announced the appointment of Solicitor General Alberto Agra acting justice secretary replacing Agnes Devanadera who is running for congresswoman of Quezon Province.

The President also named Agriculture Undersecretary Bernardo Fondevilla as ad interim secretary of the Department of Agriculture (DA), Maritime Industry Authority (Marina) head Ma. Elena Bautista as new director general of the Presidential Management Staff (PMS), and Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (Tesda) Deputy Director General Rogelio Pijuan as new Tesda chief.

They would replace outgoing secretaries Arthur Yap of the DA, Hermogenes Esperon Jr. of PMS and Augusto Syjuco of Tesda who all resigned to run for congressmen of Bohol, Pangasinan and Iloilo, respectively.

Also being considered as new Budget Secretary is Senior Deputy Executive Secretary and Presidential Legislative Liaison Office head Joaquin Lagonera replacing Rolando Andaya Jr., who is running for congressman of Camarines Sur, and Deputy Executive Secretary Natividad Dizon as Chief Presidential Legal Counsel replacing Raul Gonzalez who is running for mayor of Iloilo.

Read the whole story at


Post a Comment

Copyright 2009 Election 2010. Powered by Blogger Blogger Templates create by Deluxe Templates. WP by Masterplan